Resurrection or Chocolate Eggs?

For those of us who are Christian, this past weekend has (hopefully) been one of reflection, contemplation and rejoicing. Christ’s sacrifice for us was the single most important thing anyone has ever done for humanity, and it calls on us to continue in His wake, spreading this Gospel and being kind and loving to our neighbors. For those of you who are Christian, I hope you had a blessed Easter week and a peaceful Easter celebration Sunday. May Christ’s resurrection restore you in ways only God can provide.

For those of you not Christian, this past weekend may have been about chocolate eggs, jelly beans, family dinners, or maybe nothing out of the ordinary at all. Whatever you did to fill your time, I hope it was joyful, relaxing, and you were able to find some peace.

I hold no illusions that everyone celebrates these “religious” holidays as I do. Heck, I even said as much at one point during our worship service, as I contemplated how this country seems to cater to Christianity, but not to other religions. I have no idea how we got this way, but, here we are. But because I am a Christian, I want to offer my well wishes to everyone else, because in doing that, I feel more joyful, more peaceful, and more fulfilled.

Blessings to you all for great week, no matter what you are doing, who you are with, or where you are in your faith. I’m looking forward to jumping back into my work and sharing with you stories only a chaplain can tell.  Peace!

One thought on “Resurrection or Chocolate Eggs?”

  1. Peace to you too. And, allow me to add, our Jewish friends were doing more than enjoying chocolate eggs this week. And, as a secular person, I was celebrating more than jelly beans. Enjoying the beauty of the season, Nature’s amazing gifts (real bunnies too) is something anyone can participate in regardless of faith or not. Chaplains are in a good position to share a wider view. Just an idea to think about.

    Like

Comments are closed.